Come grow with us!

Candidate Information

Any person desiring to be a candidate for any elective office in the Town shall on or before the 25th day preceding the election (5:00 p.m. on April 8, 2021) file with the judges of election a petition to have their name placed on the ballot. The petition shall set forth the office to which they desire to be elected, and shall contain a statement that the candidate is qualified to hold the office if elected. In the case of any candidate seeking election as Mayor, the petition must be signed by not less than twenty-five (25) qualified voters from the Town at large; and in the case of a candidate for the Council, the petition shall be signed by not less than fifteen (15) qualified voters from the ward in which the candidate resides. Each candidate filing a petition for any elective office shall pay to the Town the sum of twenty-five dollars ($25.00). Each person elected to an office by a "write-in" vote shall pay the same amount as if a petition had been filed.

Qualifications of Councilmembers
A Councilmember shall be at least 21 years of age and a citizen of the United States. The Councilmember shall have resided within the corporate limits of the Town for at least six (6) months immediately preceding the election and shall be a qualified voter of the ward from which elected. A Councilmember shall retain throughout the two year term of office all the qualifications necessary for election, and failure to retain all such qualifications shall cause a forfeiture of office.

Qualifications of Mayor
The Mayor must be at least 25 years of age, a citizen of the United States, and a qualified voter in the Town, and shall have resided within the corporate limits of the Town for at least one (1) year immediately preceding the election. The Mayor shall be elected from within the corporate limits of the Town at large as hereinafter provided and shall hold office for a term of two years or until the succeeding Mayor takes office. The regular term of the Mayor shall expire on the first Monday in June following the election and qualification of a successor.